It was near the end of day one when I hopped onto the all-new 2008 Yeti 575 Enduro. Typically, by that time of day, the sun has given me the eternal beat-down and I’ve all but pedaled every ounce of energy and sweat out of my system. This year was different. Even after spanking the trails for most of the day, the all-new 2008 Yeti 575 Enduro felt especially quick and agile on the climbs–an attribute not demonstrated by a single bike earlier in the day. Having identified the previous Yeti 575 as one of the top trailbikes of our day, the all-new 575 crushes the previous design on all fronts.

Not satisfied with the current frame design, Yeti went back to the drawing board on frame materials and design. The new front triangle boasts hydroformed tubes for a 30% stiffer ride and I’m guessing a slight weight savings. Gone is the old knuckle junction in the top-tube in favor of an un-welded, continuous (yet still bent) top-tube. And, while I’m on the subject, the top-tube lengths have been extended ever so slightly in all sizes.

2008 Yeti 575 Enduro - Side View

The rear triangle continues the evolution of the 575 with a full carbon option that features asymmetrical chainstays and a reinforced seatstay similar to the reverse arch sported by Manitou forks. Of course it still features the carbon flexpoints instead of full pivots. Everything about the new frame is flat out awesome. It looks much more refined and sexy compared to the previous model and those looks are not just skin deep because as I quickly found out, this bike flat out rips up the trails.

Quick Review of the 2008 Yeti 575 Enduro

As mentioned above, I rode the 575 as the final bike of day one, which isn’t usually the best time to be testing a bike. But, as it turned out, it was the best time to hit the trails on the 575 because it instantly stood out as the finest bike of the Demo. While I didn’t get a chance to ride every trailbike, I have ridden every bike in this category over the past three years and this bike is quite honestly the new benchmark in the category.

2008 Yeti 575 Enduro Frame Closeup

After slogging uphill on the Commencal Meta 6, pushing a the bigger hoops of 29ers and climbing pretty darn efficiently on the Marin Mount Vision Quad XC, the Yeti cruised uphill better than any 6-inch travel bike I’ve ever ridden. This thing is the epitome of smooth and efficient. It tracks uphill straight and smooth on both fire roads and singletrack.

When the going gets rough and gravity takes over, the 575 continues to show that it is the boss. The Fox TALAS RLC provided just the right amount of squish and stiffness to keep the rubber side in contact with the ground–no matter how rough. Although I believe the rear shock (Fox RP23) is completely sufficient for the downhill portion of the show, this bike could benefit from a tad longer-travel up front (as is stock on the more expensive Enduro Pro build). The Fox 36 or RockShox Lyrik would be stellar options on this ride–just so long as you could reduce the travel on long climbs.

Good Yeti 575

  • Efficient climber
  • Very comfortable at speed and through the rough
  • Laterally very stiff
  • Excellent suspension feel in all conditions

Bad Yeti 575

  • Rear tire clearance can be challenging
  • Enduro build kit leaves something to be desired (wheels and fork especially)

The Bottom Line

Both Kendall and myself felt that the 575 was the best bike ridden at the show. And, to prove that we aren’t the only ones, as I was climbing up the trail I happened to overhear another rider’s phone conversation with a buddy not at the show. I can only guess that his buddy asked what bike was the best he had ridden. His response was something like this… “Dude, the new Yeti 575 is F&*&$ awesome!” I couldn’t agree more.

EDITOR’S UPDATE (May 2008): After riding the Yeti 575 Race bike and absolutely LOVING it at Interbike (October 2007), I’ve since gotten a stock 2008 Yeti 575 Enduro here on the local Utah trails for some hometown tests (May 2008). While I still whole-heartedly recommend this bike as an all-mountain trailbike, the wheels included with the Enduro kit leave something to be desired. Keep that in mind and upgrade the wheels and fork to something like the Fox TALAS 32 RLC with 15QR and you’ll be much more stoked than just the entry-level Enduro kit.

Buy Now: Search for a Yeti 575

2008 Yeti 575 Enduro - Trail Jumping

2008 Yeti 575 Enduro - Rear Triangle

2008 Yeti 575 Enduro Carbon Rear Triangle

About Author

A Seattle native, Jason developed a love for the outdoors and a thing for mountains. That infatuation continues as he founded this site in 1999 --sharing his love of road biking, mountain biking, trail running and skiing. That passion is channeled into every article or gear review he writes. Utah's Wasatch Mountains are his playground.


  1. Jason, thanks for the great write up. Your review is by far the longest & most detailed we’ve seen so far of this redesign. Can you speak about the rear tire clearance near that carbon brace on the seatstay? In every pic we’ve seen, the bike has been sporting a “smallish” Maxxis Crossmark 2.1, and the clearance seems limited. I know the terrain I ride my ’07 575 in would chew up a Crossmark within the first mile, and need a larger tire back there…but am not willing to buy a new frame to find out if one will fit!

  2. The test bike had Maxxis Larsen TT 2.35’s in the rear. I talked to Chris Conroy, the President of Yeti Cycles, and he confirmed that the Larsen TT is a very high volume tire compared to say the Maxxis HighRoller 2.35 or the Kenda Nevegal 2.35 and that those tires would have greater clearance.

    As it was, the new carbon rear on the Yeti 575 did have sufficient tire clearance for the largely dry and rocky conditions found in the desert and dry mountain areas here in Utah. I’m going to contact Maxxis and Kenda directly for specific tread heights and volumes on their tires, then post an update.

  3. I was able to arrange for a pair of Kenda Nevegal 2.35’s to be sent to Seth Mukai at Yeti Cicles. I just got an email from Seth and here’s what he said:

    “They fit perfectly. Plenty of room beneath the carbon bridge! While they are a little wider (closer to the stays) than the Maxxis Larsen TT tires, it shouldn’t pose a problem.”

    Now for a picture… that may be awhile. 🙂

  4. Great review but were you able to compare the 575 against the Intense 5.5 or Ellsworth Epiphany? Would you still rank the new Yeti above them?

  5. Rope…

    Honestly, I can’t say much for the Ellsworth Epiphany or the Intense 5.5. I can speak for the Ellsworth Moment and the Intense 6.6 though. The Ellsworth Moment is a great bike as is the Intense 6.6, but VPP designs aren’t the end-all-be-all. They are super-smooth all around, but I find them to be a bit numb on long climbs. Kind of like the bike is disconnected from the trail or something.

    So, I would still say that the Yeti 575 Carbon is going to be the best overall all-mountain bike on the market. It is a bit cheaper than Ellsworth or Intense options as well. You can deck it out much more for a lower price.

  6. Thanks for the quick reply, had no idea anyone would do so. The Yeti will most likely be my next bike but how about the Stumpjumper? Have seen some good, maybe biased, reviews. It also comes with a drastically reduced price; price not being the most important factor.

    Thanks again!

  7. So if I’m reading this right, the rear is a single pivot design with flex stays? Since it flexes, how is side to side flex? Is it kind of squirmy? I’m worried that on a longer travel bike that it may lose its side to side stiffness.

  8. Lateral stiffness on this bike is top-notch. The flex stays are built to flex in one direction only (up and down). Because the entire rear triangle is a unified single-pivot, lateral torsional stiffness is excellent.

  9. Good question… they are both essentially single-pivot bikes although the Yeti does have that carbon flex pivot and carbon stays that soften things up a bit on the chattery stuff.

    I honestly haven’t ridden a Heckler in a long time, so I can’t really compare them apples-to-apples. Both are great bikes, but I would give the nod to the 575. The Heckler is certainly a bit less money, so if that allows you to get a nicer build for the same money, I wouldn’t blame you.

    I’ll try to get on a Heckler for comparison at the Interbike Outdoor Demo next month.

  10. You are right on with your update of the new 575 stiffness. I have an 2005 575 and my only complaint was the slight feeling of instability due to the 2 pc low top tube. A price I was willing to pay for extra clearance. I thought from looking at the new tube design that it might cure the problem. Thanks to your review, now I know.

  11. Hey, I’ve got a 08 575 with a Talas 32 on the front and I can say that it thoroughly crushes a lot of bikes in its travel range both uphill and down. The stability on downhills is top-notch and the bike is very maneuverable without feeling twitchy. Descending over rough terrain is a breeze and the bike rides down in the travel somewhat, but this is cured for climbing with the pro-pedal lockout on the shock.

  12. Hey Robert… that fork is much better than the Vanilla 32 RL that comes standard with the Enduro Kit. You likely don’t have the stock wheelset either. Those were my two complaints with it. They are nice, but just not quite as stout as I’d like them to be on this type of rig.

    I’m glad you love yours… this bike is awesome!

  13. Have you any opinions on this bike being built up as a lightweight endurance machine? Seems like a build you could really rely on while being light at the same time…

  14. Hey Doug… You could definitely build the Yeti 575 as an ultralight machine that would still handle all-day abuse. With the plethora of carbon parts available and lightweight wheelsets, you could get this in the 26 lb. range–maybe even lighter. If you end up building it out, let me know what parts you choose.

    Of course, going ultralight, you’ll spend through the nose, but if you want light and durable in a long-travel package, that’s kind of a given.

  15. Doug,

    I am building up an Enduro with all XT parts. I am replacing the Fox Vanilla with a 09 Talas-not the 15q. My dealer has been trying to talk me out of the 15Q. Is this wise? I thought that the extra 10mm would be nice. My question then is if you recommend the 15Q, what wheel set (reasonably priced) would you recommend. If not the 15Q, what wheel set do you recommend? I was thinking the Mavic X717/XT Combo for about $250 or a E540/370 for $450. or a 240 Hub and XR 4.1.D

  16. There are so many options when it comes to wheelsets, it’s hard to pin down the right one without knowing more about your riding style. I can say that getting a wheelset with the 15QR is quite difficult still. Come Spring, things will be better, but right now, there are few choices.

    I know that WTB and Ellsworth will be making nice trail-worthy wheels with 15mm front options.

    If I were you, I’d definitely hold out for the 15mm front hub if you can. It makes a HUGE difference.

  17. So I took your advice. Here is what I have decided to build.

    WTB Rocket V SLT Ti Saddle
    Kenda Nevegal 26×2.1 UST
    XT Shifters
    09 Fox 32 Talas 150RLC
    XT Crank
    Chris King Headset
    Hope 2 Front/XT756 Rear
    XT Brakes

    Pretty good?

  18. Nice work on that bike. You could go for a little wider tires at some point, but those should be fast on the trail. Let me know how that Fox TALAS 32 RLC 150 treats you! I wanted to get that one, but the 150mm wasn’t quite available in June when I got the Vanilla 32.

    Did you go for the 15mm QR front? I’m guessing so if you have a Hope front hub. It makes a big difference!

  19. Jason,

    Yes, I went with the new Talas 150 QR with the Hope2 and XT in the rear. I also made a couple of other adjustments. XTR Crank and XTR shifters. Any tire recommendations? Now is the time as the bike is being built and I have not taken delivery. Universal in Oregon recommended the Tomacs.

  20. Sorry for the delay, Dave… have you checked out any tires in the WTB line? Where are you located?

    I’ve had great luck with the WTB Mutano Raptor 2.4’s on the 09 Santa Cruz Blur LT2 I’ve got.

  21. Hi Jason,

    I also read your review on the Transition Covert and was wondering if the Yeti is that much better than the Covert to warrant the price tag difference. My budget is 3800, which gets me either the Yeti w/ the enduro race kit (not the long travel one, just the one with the float) or a custom build on a Covert, which in my opinion would be a better build kit than the Yeti). I’m a firm believer that you should by the better frame because you can always upgrade the components to your dream build, given enough time. So is the Yeti that much better?

    Great reviews on both bikes, btw. I’ve been fence sitting between these two bikes for a while now, and your reviews made it that much harder.


  22. Hey Alan… it’s a tough call–especially since it’s been a year since I’ve ridden both bikes. I can say that you wouldn’t ever regret going with the 575 and if you had to get lesser parts and upgrade later, that’s the bike.

    However, the Covert is really a sweet bike. It does lean a little more towards enjoying the downhill. The seat angle is a little slack, thus putting you a teeny bit rearward.

    If you want to get an awesome trailbike build with a solid frame, get the Covert. The guys at Transition are AWESOME!!!

    If you want to get an awesome frame and eventually build out an awesome build, go for the Yeti. Those guys are definitely cool as well!

    It’s really a tough call dude… I’m sorry if I’ve just muddied the waters. Good luck!

  23. This is the way I did my Yeti 575. I bought a demo frame which was much less than new, yet looks just like new. Then upgraded the parts to what has been shown previously and was given a sweet deal. I worked with Will at He can tell you what he can and cannot do. One thing though you have to settle for Black as that is the only color they put out for demo.

  24. Jason,

    Why did you go with the Santa Cruz Blur LT2 over the Yeti or the Covert? May be I should have gone the same way.

  25. There’s no question that the 575 rocks. Both the Covert and LT2 are also fine examples of all-mountain bikes. I’m a bad person to ask when it comes to my own personal bike. I get to ride so many bikes during the course of the season that I get fickle pretty quick. Plus, I always like to have the latest-and-greatest. A long time to have a bike for me is 4 months, so don’t use me as a reason to think about something else.

    The Yeti 575 that you’ve built up sounds stellar! You absolutely can’t go wrong with that frame–especially if you’ve built it up to your liking.

  26. I am sure I will not be disappointed. I looked at the Blur LT2, but the cost was over $1500 more or so for what I built the 575. Also, the Blur did not allow for the new 15QR at my local dealer. I appreciate all of your reviews. The bike shipped yesterday so I should get it tomorrow.

  27. Hey SQRRRL…

    The inevitable bike comparisons continue. It’s always hard to say one bike is superior than another–especially with two awesome bikes like the Mach 5 and the 575.

    The Mach 5 is a great all-mountain bike, but it leans a little more XC than the 575. It is built for a 140mm front fork to match its 140mm rear travel via DW-link. Don’t get me wrong, this bike is supremely capable and the DW suspension is the one to beat IMHO. It’s so smooth and soaks up everything. It’s a comfortable bike right out of the box.

    The 575 can handle a little bit more freeridey-type of riding and could take a 160mm front fork (if you wanted). The single-pivot suspension design is simpler than the DW, but it’s not quite as smooth throughout the stroke.

    If you want a bike that can be a near-freeride machine while still being a super-light all-mountain steed, the 575 is your ticket. If you want something that can climb and descend with equal ease, is a little more exclusive and not quite capable of handling large drops, then go for the Mach 5. The suspension pivots and overall frame design on the Mach 5 is awesome!

    However… you really need to ride each one to decide for yourself. That’s about the best comparison I could do for ya. 🙂

  28. Hi Jason, I have decided to join the tribe and get my hands on a 575 for myself. But the main decision point for me now is if i should go with the full carbon version or the alum/carbon one? Aside from the weight savings, are there any other reasons for me to consider going the full carbon way vs the alum/carbon one? Is durability a non issue in the full carbon frame?

  29. Right on! You know… I’ve only ridden the full carbon, but I’m guessing the difference won’t be that noticeable. If money is tight, spend the extra on another upgrade.

    I’ve also heard that carbon chainstays aren’t the best application for carbon anyway. Of course this was from a competitor, so you might take that with a grain of salt. 🙂

  30. Thanks Jason! I figured as much! 🙂 The savings I get by going the alum/carbon way I could surely use on other upgrades instead. And while we’re at it, another thing I’m thinking about is if I should go with an RP23 or DHX Air? Would the DHX Air be overkill? Im really just looking at this as a hard trail bike that can do some small-medium sized jumps and drops at best so was thinking the RP23 should suffice? Your thoughts….

  31. RP23’s are awesome shocks and are sufficient for most all riders. What’s interesting is that many bikes (like the Ellsworth Epiphany) only come with a Fox Float R rear shock and still ride like a dream. All those adjustments can get in the way sometimes.

    Stick with the RP23… you’ll be just fine.

  32. Jason,
    I’m stuck 50/50 between the 575 and the blur lt2. If you had never ridden either bike, based off first impressions and overall performance, which bike would you go with? Obviously by looking at these bikes, I’m considering an aggresive xc/am bike that I’ll be using as my every day, do all bike. I’ll be doing the 15qr talas with hope hubs, 819’s, xt brakes, etc. Thanks for your input.

  33. Guapo…

    It’s your lucky day because I just finished up the review of the Blur LT2 today. It doesn’t go live until Tuesday or so, but I can tell you this much… that bike is sweet.

    It’s a tough call between the LT2 and the 575. Both are super-versatile and super-fun. There isn’t anything that they can’t do (well, within reason). I like both bikes a lot and would recommend either one in a heartbeat. The simplicity of Yeti’s suspension design is a huge plus, but the overall smoothness of the LT2 can’t be overlooked either.

    If you’ve got the coin, have you considered the Ellsworth Epiphany? That’s another one to throw in the mix.

    Just a couple of questions so I know a little more about where you ride… Where are you located? What type of terrain do you ride?

  34. Quick reply…5 star service!

    I haven’t considered an ellsworth because a) I ride a four bar suspension bike right now and would like to try something different and b) they’re a little pricier than I’d like. I consistently ride southern ca up to four times a week. Long fire road climbs only to go down, and then up again, and repeat. No super technical downhills but I like to huck it if the opportunity arises.

    Singletrack mag recently did a head-to-head review of both bikes and of course, both bikes performed very well. They are very similar yet very different bikes at the same time and I suppose that is what has me held up… I keep pressuring myself to make a decision but it just isn’t going to happen without more test rides and reviews….

  35. It sounds like you would love either bike. I hear ya on Ellsworth’s prices, but they are solid bikes. Have you ridden any DW-Links? They too are expensive, but very nice.

    Choosing between the SC Blur LT2 and the Yeti 575 is a tough one… like choosing which of your kids are your favorite. The answer is both! Good luck choosing one for yourself.

  36. Hi Jason
    Have been checking out the reviews for the Yeti575and was really impressed with your report. I noticed another question submited to you asked how the Yeti and a Santa Cruz Heckler would compare. You said in reply that you were going to check out the heckler and report back. Any news? I really can’t decide between the 2 so your views would be appreciated.
    All the best
    James (UK)

  37. Hey James

    Sorry man… I didn’t end up getting on the Heckler. Interbike is always busier than you think and I just didn’t get on the Heckler this year. The new Blur LT2 is awesome and would be a hard call between that and the 575.

  38. Just got on to your site for the first time. Great to read comments on the 575. I just bought one last week. I live on the west coast of New Zealand’s South Island which has multiple terrain. The 575 eats it.

    Climbs smooth, Eats drops… i just ride and ride and ride.

    Also I’m 52 and the Yeti doesn’t tire me like my old Avanti ADX. Keep up the good work

  39. Jason and everyone else…
    thanks for the comments.
    hey just to muddy the waters a little, how does the Ibis Mojo compare to the Yeti 575 and the LT2 in your opinion?

  40. Hey BJ… yup, the waters are muddy for sure. You’re really asking me to split hairs here. The Ibis Mojo is an outstanding bike and I absolutely LOVE The DW-Link. However, I don’t think it’s quite as capable downhill as the 575 or LT2. The steering felt twitchy on descents. Potentially a 150mm fork would remedy that a tad… not sure.

    As far as 140mm DW’s, I’d go for the Pivot Mach 5 over the Mojo, but that’s just my prefernce… still a tough call to put one bike over the other.

  41. Jason,

    I have purchased the 575 with the specs I have listed previously but now I am contemplating a change of saddle. I primarily ride xc with long rides and great climbs. Not much downhill. Looking at the WTB pure V. I think the 575 came with the Rocket V. I believe your Santa Cruz has the Pure V. Any thoughts??? Also thinking about the Devo Carbon or Silverado.

  42. I’m not going to go into saddles. 🙂

    It’s such a personal thing, that it’s hard to say one over another. I can say that I’ve been pleased with all the WTB saddles I’ve used including every one you mentioned above. I’m not a picky saddle guy, I guess, but I’ve mostly ridden WTB’s over the past few years, so I don’t have anything to compare to.

  43. Hi Jason,

    I’m learning a lot from your inputs, in one of your posts you suggested the ellsworth epiphany. what then would you recommend for an aggressive trail bike? I’m curently considering the epiphany, motolite and the 575. Thanks and hoping for your immediate reply.

  44. Thanks Jason,

    I’ve already ordered my 09 575. Due to monetary constraints, the fox 36 is abit out of my budget, was thinking of going with the Kowa 169ss. Have you ever tried them? Thanks again, your inputs are certainly a big help.

  45. Hello,
    Thanks for probably the best review on the 575 that I’ve read so far. I’m buying my first FS bike, after 4-5 terrific years with my TREK 4300 HT. Most of my riding is XC and also very little AM. My shortlist for a FS bike includes the Yeti 575, the Gary Fisher Roscoe 1, and the Trek EX 8. I’m getting a very good price on a new 2009 Yeti, so there’s “only” a $300 difference between it and the other 2, which cost exactly the same. Any suggestions?

    Thanks for reading!

  46. You can’t go wrong with the Yeti 575, but if you’re primarily doing XC, it may be a little overkill. However, if you want to push yourself on more challenging terrain, the 575 is a great choice. It can be built very lightweight, yet still handle a ton of abuse.

    I’m hoping to get on the Roscoe and/or the Fuel EX this Spring. I’ve heard good things about both bikes.

  47. Hi Jason

    Thanks for this thorough report and thread. I’ve been riding on a Santa Cruz Blur (the first blur version) for the last 5 years. Getting ready to replace my steed and am debating between the new Blur LT2 and the 575. Doing mostly XC, lots of climbs, but also get to go rough some times, mostly with all day epic rides.

    Any recommendations / comparisons on both? money is not the main issue (hey, even my wife will let me spend some cash once every 5 years) so its mostly about getting the best ride.

    • If you have the ability to build the bike out to your exact liking, I think I’d go with the 575. Out of the box, the enduro build kit is lacking a bit in the wheels and the fork. Most everything else is acceptable, but the wheels and fork are the weak links.

      Both bikes are awesome and are great trailbikes–you honestly can’t go wrong with either one. I just think you can get the 575 a little lighter and have a little simpler suspension design and setup. If you’re going to be doing more XC stuff, the 575 would be a tad more efficient.

      The new VPP design on the LT2 is easier to maintain and should be much more durable than your current ride, but it’s yet to be completely proven over time. I had ZERO issues with mine, but it is new.

  48. Good to hear such great comments about the 2008 yeti 575.
    I have just ordered the yeti 575 enduro 2009 and changed the set up a bit.Would be interesting the know what set up yuo would reconmened at the back i.e (tyre)as i was reconmened to go with a smaller tyre at the rear.

    Look forward to your feed back.

    Keep thoughs pedals spinning.

  49. The only thing that should stop anyone buying the 08 Yeti 575 with hyroformed carbon rear is price. I was lucky enough to have the Yeti 575 as an insurance replacement built to my own choice of components with Fox Talas RLC-15QR 150-130-110 mm adjustable travel forx which match up with this frame sublimely. At 29lbs build the bike climbs superbly. I think the geometry is just right-shock position, linkage, RP23 shock, everything.

    I think everyone considering a new bike should just get to ride this BEFORE making a final descision on anything else-believe me you wont be disappointed. The only thing i would be concerned about if you do big jumps-is the carbon triangle as a heavier rider.

    Just go and ride one.


  50. Hi Jason,

    I am looking into a full-suss bike frame for my wife who’s barely 5 feet in her socks. I’m considering a small Giant Trance X, a Yeti 575, a Pivot or one of DW-Turners. I am riding a Knolly Endorphin and a Knolly Delirium T, and have an Ellsworth Truth that I hardly use now. Grateful for suggestions! The truth is that I am hoping to pinch her ‘new’ bike to ride now and then – hence I am not looking at Knollys or Ellsworths. She only rides groomed trails!


    • She’s pocket-sized eh? It’s hard to make suggestions for someone so small and inexperienced at riding bikes. If you’re looking for a nice bike that she’d love, you’re on the right track. The bikes you mentioned are all great options, but I think the 575 would be overkill.

      If she were a tad taller, I’d suggest a 29er, but she’d have a tough time on one. I’d check out the Kona Hei Hei and see what she thinks. You can get a heck of a bike for not much money with Konas.

  51. Thanks Jason,

    I forgot to tell you that her current ride is a 14-inch Litespeed Pisgah. Am looking for a full suspension for her. My Ellsworth Truth is too large for her, so I guess I’ll look at a small Santa Cruz Superlite or the Giant Trance X or perhaps the Anthem X.

    Cheers and thanks!


  52. Hi jason,i love downhill i do some light freeride staff but also i use my bike everyday to go to my job.I also like to use my bike rather to use my car.Is Yeti the perfect bike for me.I leave and ride in Greece.

    • Tasos

      Thanks for reaching out to me all the way from Greece. If you’re looking for an excellent “do-it-all” bike, you really can’t go wrong with the Yeti 575. It’s really one of the more capable bikes on the market today. And, you can get into one for less than you might think compared to other comparable models. You could throw some urban tires on it and pedal around the pavement, then toss some trail tires on it for more epic riding.

  53. Jason,
    I’m on the fence between a BLT2 and the 575. I have an older 575 which is awesome although I’m looking to upgrade. What I’ve always liked about the 575 was the slacker cushy feel when the 6″ fork is running. I’m presently riding a medium w/50mm stem. I’m wondering if the same setup that I have now would be to short with the new frame.( The toptube looks huge for a medium bike.)How do you think that carbon rear Triangle would hold up in North East Coast conditions (lots of rock gardens, rocks in general,super tech up and down singletrack). That BLT2 looks pretty burly and seems to have the same Geometry as the older 575. Based on those questions, what do you think? Hope I didn’t ask too many questions.

  54. @MARK…

    Thanks for the comment and the myriad of questions. 🙂 Picking that “one bike” is always a challenge isn’t it? If you really like your 575, I see no reason why you wouldn’t be even more stoked on the new one. I’ve owned both the old and the new 575 and the new one is awesome–especially with a custom build and 6″ fork.

    That said, I would worry about the lack of tire clearance in the rear if you’re riding in wet/muddy conditions. Carbon fiber worries are really unfounded–it’s bomber.

    I think the 575 would be a more capable climber than the BLT2, but it’s really a toss-up. I just feel like the VPP design is kind of a numb but still efficient climber. But that bike eats up rock gardens for breakfast.

    The new 575 frameset actually has slightly longer TT lengths. A Medium 575 has a 23.8 in. TT and the Large Blur LT2 is 23.5 in. Both are right inline with what you’ve got (I think).

  55. hi, ive got a santa cruz nomad, and i looking at getting either a new yeti 575 or the new shape nomad? can you help me to make a decision as with a bit of luck you may have ridden both. i mainly ride at uk trail centers but do a little bit of downhill from time to time.
    thanks james

    • Hey James

      I have yet to ride the new Nomad. I really liked the old one, but it’s been several years since I swung a leg over it so my memory is a little fuzzy. I can remember it was a fun bike. The new one looks even better–more refined, stiffer, etc. The Nomad and the 575 are really in two different leagues. But, you can put a Fox 36 on the 575 to make it more sled-like so I can see the quandary.

      I don’t think you could go wrong with either choice.

  56. Jason,

    Are you in Salt Lake City? Here is the deal. I purchased a Yeti 575 08/09 frame with the following
    WTB Rocket V SLT Ti Saddle
    Kenda Nevegal 26×2.1 UST
    XT Shifters
    09 Fox 32 Talas 150RLC
    XT Crank
    Chris King Headset
    Hope 2 Front/XT756 Rear
    XT Brakes

    Same spec that Dave did back in October. I went with it over the Blur LT2. I have ridden it a few times on Clarks and corner canyon. This is where I need your guidance. The ride is very rough. I remember when I test rode the LT2 it felt plush. However, I went with the Yeti due to cost. Is there anyone is SLC you would recommend I speak with to get fitted right or get the 575 more dialed in? Otherwise I may look at selling the Yeti and paying more for something else.

  57. Not that it matters but I just realized I wrote I have XT Crank and XT shifters, but they are XTR. I bought the bike out of state as well as Dave suggested from Full Cycles

  58. @Robert

    Nice purchase! Sorry it’s not riding as perfectly as you’d hoped. Don’t give up that easily!!!

    Yes, I’m in Salt Lake City… who built your bike up? Did Full Cycles do a build and ship it to you? Did you take it to a shop for final build inspection? If not, I’d say head to off 33rd South. They sell Yeti and will dial you in.

    When you say it’s riding “rough” are you talking shifting, cockpit fit, shock performance, tires, wheelset or all of the above?

  59. That was fast! Full Cycles did the complete build and shipped it to me. I had Gutherie do the final because I had done some other things with them. I did rent a 575 from GO-Ride to test first, but their price difference at the time was $2K because I was buying a demo frame and they were not closing anything out. By rough I mean in the suspension. The shifting is great! When I go through a rutted out section it feels harsh on the front end.

  60. Sounds like you just need to adjust the pressure for your weight and riding style. I could even meet you at a trailhead to troubleshoot if you wanted. I’m heading out in Corner Canyon today and most afternoons this week. Drop me a line: jason at

  61. Hi jason,i bought the yeti 575 frame 2008 a month ago and built it with fox 36 talas,xt-slx,sun rims rhyno lite xl(a bit heavy but strong),avid elixir r 185-185.I,m so impresed with this bike,i do mostly downhills and i can keep the pace with my friends that all has downhills and freeride bikes.The rear suspension feels super plush and smooth.With a flick to propedal(position 2)rise the sadle and the fork to 140 the bike transform to a very capable xc bike that i can do my all day riding if i want to.I thing fox float 36 is better than the talas 36 for downhills and freeride.I ran the sag (15 mm) the rear shock and 30 mm (160 travel) the fork.The only problem i have is that the rear brake is very noisy till it gets warm.All the bike cost me to built it 2000 euros…I bought the frame slightly used and i bought all the other stuff from the internet.

  62. Pingback: All-mountain Wheelsets: What Do You Get for $1k? -

  63. Picked up a 08 575 race at a great price since the 09 are comming out I must say I love this bike. I first started riding on a trek 9800 OCLV hard tail and several others after and I must say this is the best I have ridden so far and I believe will be the last. Will deff buy a yeti again.

  64. Hey Jason, thanks for your imput, I was wondering if you know of any reports about frame durability issues, frames breaking, the carbon chainstay not holding up under abuse, or stress fractures throughout? I am in the market for a new bike and I really have always liked the 575. I tend to be hard on bikes, not to the point of performing any drops from above 5 ft or extreme DH maneuvers, but I am pretty aggressive and do ride hard and fast taking moderate drops and jumps. I was comparing the SC Heckler and the 575. I know you said you do not have any experience with the Heckler, but from what I have heard it is a beast and very durable. I still like the 575 and would probably build it up with a DHX air, and Fox 36, or 32-150 qrl. So that is my main question, should I be concerned about breaking this bike or putting any annoying squeaks in the frame. – Again I know it is not a DH bike and I will not be treating it as such. Thanks Jason. -Nate

  65. I have not heard of any issues with the frame… The Heckler is a great choice, but it’s an old-school single-pivot design. The Yeti is a more refined single-pivot design that will provide a better overall ride in all conditions.

    Decking the 575 out heavy-duty style you’d end up with a solid near-freeride machine. I don’t think you could go wrong with either, but the Heckler is likely less expensive.

    I can vouch for the new Fox 32 150mm TALAS 15qr and can say it would be an awesome match to either bike.

  66. rod bardsley on

    so reading this makes me happy i own this bike (with rp23 and 09 36 talas).only problem is that i have tyre rub when cornering with a 2.35 nevegal folding? i’m a bit pissed cause i hate skinny tyres. anyone else running these rubbers?

  67. @Jon… hard to tell you with just that as the question. 575 is a dialed-in trailbike that’s capable from XC to AM (light freeride). The Slayer is a trailbike that can actually be a light freeride bike.

    Both are great bikes, but the Slayer is built burlier and is a tad slower on XC-type stuff like long climbs and rolling terrain.

  68. I currently own the old style Yeti 575 frame (2006) which I think is an incredible bike. Is it worth the upgrade to the new frame? can you describe the difference in the ride. Also, I have been told that the “new” blurs, treks etc.., have more advanced technology in design, suspension etc.., than yeti…can you comment on that. thanks

  69. Hey Dean

    Yup… your old bike is a great bike for sure, but I think you’d definitely notice the difference between it and the newer-style frameset. For starters, the lateral stiffness of the new frame simply blows the old one away–they simply can’t be compared. They are both very capable bikes in so many ways, but the new one is more refined and much smoother overall.

    You’re correct on the many bikes offered by the competition being way more capable these days. Here are a few along that same vein:

    1. Pivot Mach 5
    2. Ibis Mojo
    3. Trek Remedy
    4. Santa Cruz Blur LT and LTC

    Three different suspension technologies, but each one is a solid performer.

  70. Thanks Jason for the quick response. So if you are looking for the latest and greatest all mountain bike and you would buy one today, which would you pick? Does the Yeti design still keep up with the competition? Would I be able tell the difference with climbing technical terrain, hills, downhilling etc.., vs the competition or am I just splitting hairs?

  71. Dean… in a lot of ways you are splitting hairs as they are all great bikes. Yeti’s simple design speaks volumes to the fact that sometimes the most simple solution is best. Their bikes are stellar performers… no question.

    With the virtual pivot designs (VPP, DW, Maestro), you get a little different feel than the Yeti. They have a lot of negative travel so you get a very plush feel all the time, but sometimes they lack liveliness. However, the new VPP and DW can provide both liveliness and plushness.

    Without having all of those designs in one place for a side-by-side test, it’s hard to tell you the differences. I have a small brain and can’t remember little details years after the fact. 🙂

    All great bikes… no question.

  72. Hi Jason

    May I ask your advice?
    I live in russia and plan to buy my first full susp. frame from Jenson and have it shipped internationally. My choice consists of; Yeti ASR Alu 09, Yeti 575 Alu 08, Titus X Carbon 09. I realize that 575 has more susp. travel then other two frames, but it is rather heavier as well. At the same time, I’ve ridden my friend’s Yeti ASR on mild off road and I was stunned how light and responsive that bike was. So my question is: is there anything I can rather do on 575 but not on ASR so it would worth of sacrificing weight difference between these two frames. I know, it sounds kind of silly, as I am asking you whether I need 575 or not, but what would you prefer between these 3 frames, if i ride 70% tough terrain with a lot of climbs and sometimes moderate downhill?

  73. Hey Tim

    Isn’t it great we have so many choices!?!? Well, it does tend to confuse things, doesn’t it? When considering a bike these days, you can almost have your DH cake and eat your XC cake too with the 575–it’s that good of a bike. Yes, it is a tad heavier, but you could always lighten it up over time if the weight is a factor.

    But, if you were happy on the ASR, I don’t see anything wrong with that. You sound like you’re just starting to get into mountain biking more and more and you don’t sound like a teenage “roof jumper”, so a sensible all-mountain rider would be fine with an XC-type bike unless you hit really technical and rocky terrain on a regular basis.

    It’s really hard to say not knowing the terrain and your exact riding style. But, there’s no need to get more travel than you really will utilize. Efficiency is a good thing.

    Let me stir the pot though by asking if you’ve considered the new Yeti ASR 5C?

    It’s really the best of the 575 and ASR combined.

  74. I am aware of ASR 5C and it looks to be great a frame, but alas, it will breach my budget.
    Unfortunately, I don’t have a chance to test ride 575 and while I see, this frame significantly differs in geometry from ASR (which fits me just fine), this makes me to “fear” whether 575 can be “too big” for me for AM style of cycling. I don’t know, if I managed to explain my thoughts, but rather then weight, my concern is that 575 looks like a “biger bike” in comparison with very friendly stand over of ASR.
    Can you say something on Titus X Carbon, if you know this frame?

  75. Gotcha… The 575 and ASR should both have good standover with the bent top-tubes, but there’s no way getting around the 575 being a “bigger” bike since it has more travel, slacker angles, etc. I like the 575 and would also like the ASR if I wasn’t doing more technical rides. For long, smooth trails or tons of climbing the ASR is great.

    As far as the Titus… unfortunately, I haven’t ridden it so I can’t really compare them.

  76. Hi great review but i’d like to ask perhaps a silly question. Which is the best set up for the 575? Ride/race or pro. Of course the pro is best but is it really worth the extra cost? I’d hate to get the 575 ride and realise that i should’ve paid more to get a better spec and at the same time i’d not want the better spec if its not going to make that much difference. Thanks.

    • Tom

      The build really depends on the depth of your pockets. As with most bikes of this caliber, the frame/shock is the same… what you pay for is the fork and component spec. You just need t ask yourself if you want a high-dollar, high-end spec out the chute or if you feel you can make do with midline parts and fork and then upgrade as needed. The truth is, if you aren’t a connoisseur, you may not even know what you’re missing if you go with an SLX or XT kit vs. XT/XTR kit.

      For the money, the 575 Enduro kit is hard to beat. You can always go there and then upgrade the wheels. I guess you just need to decide how much you’re willing to spend because you can always spend more. 🙂

  77. Jason thanks heaps for your reply, that’s helped alot. As i’m still beginning your probably right about not noticing any difference in many components. I’ll most likely go for the enduro set up, cheers!

  78. Looking at the 575 but concerned with the durability of the carbon seatstays, will go with the aluminum chainstay version though. Also I hear tire clearance is up to 2.5 but I run Nevegals at 2.35 and have heard they can rub. Demo’d the bike and love it.


  79. FCH… I wouldn’t be too concerned with the carbon stays, but if aluminum gives you more peace of mind, go for it. Yeah, tire clearance is an issue on this bike. I’m not sure how much it’s been modified since introduction, but it’s a tight fit. Other than that, it’s a killer ride.

  80. Hi Jason,

    The 575 carbon seems to stack up well with other high-end boutique bikes… well balanced, plush suspension, very light for its suspension travel, and one of the best-looking bikes IMO… what do think about the rear triangle stiffness? Are bikes like the Maverick Durance, Ventana El Ciclon, and Ellsworth Epiphany at an advantage in this area?



    • As far as rear triangle stiffness, it’s very stiff since it is a single-pivot design. The entire rear triangle is a single piece without any pivots. As far as comparing the rear end to the other bikes mentioned, the Durance is the only other one with a similar rear triangle, but I can’t say since I haven’t ridden that particular bike.

      Both the Ventana and Ellsworth will be solid, but I’d likely give the 575 the initial stiffness nod in my mind. But, I’d have to test them in person head-to-head to confirm. It would stand to reason that it would be stiffer though.

      I can say that I never once thought the 575 as having a flexy rear-end.

  81. Pingback: 2009 Fox 32 FLOAT RLC 15QR Fork Review -

  82. Pingback: Iron Horse 6Point6 Mountain Bike Review -

  83. Pingback: 2011 Pivot Mach 5.7 Mountain Bike – Quick Review -

  84. I’ve been riding 575’s for 7 years. On my third. The 2009. The good news is thay track starighter and stiffer that ever before. The bad news is that the tire clearance is worse than ever and can cause problems in high stress situations. The RP23 is a weak and sloppy version of the old RP3 which was awesome and held up for years.

    One thing about the slightly incresed top tube length. I think it may be offset by a less slanted seat tube angle leading to an actually shorter overall reach.

  85. Pingback: 25th Anniversary Yeti 575 Previews Changes for 2011 -

  86. Pingback: Yeti Big Top 29er Review -

Leave A Reply

Complete this question: * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.